Each year, to reinforce ARCS Foundation's interest in scientific excellence, the San Diego Chapter recognizes an individual for his or her outstanding achievement in the scientific arena.

Past recipients of this award include:

1987 Dr. Allen E. Puckett
         Chairman Emeritus, Hughes Aircraft Company
1988 Dr. Cecil H. Green
         Cofounder, Texas Instruments, Incorporated
1989 Dr. Simon Ramo
         Cofounder, TRW, Incorporated
1990 Dr. Sally K. Ride
         Professor of Physics
         University of California, San Diego
1991 Admiral James D. Watkins
         Secretary, U. S. Department of Energy
1992 Dr. Paul MacCready
         Inventor, Gossamer Condor
1993 Professor Walter Munk
         Scripps Institution of Oceanography
1994 Dr. Gerald M. Edelman
         Nobel laureate
         The Scripps Research Institute
1995 Dr. Carolyn and Dr. Eugene Shoemaker
         Co-discoverers, Shoemaker-Levy 9 Comet
1996 Dr. Floyd Bloom
         Chairman, Department of Neuropharmacology
         The Scripps Research Institute
         Editor-in-Chief, Science magazine
1997 Dr. Kurt Benirschke
         Professor Emeritus of Pathology & Reproductive Medicine
         University of California, San Diego, Medical Center
1998 Dr. Gail K. Naughton
         President and Chief Operating Officer
         Advanced Tissue Sciences, Incorporated
1999 Dr. Francis H. C. Crick
         Nobel laureate
         Distinguished Research Professor
         Salk Institute for Biological Studies
2000 Dr. Irwin Mark Jacobs
         Chairman and CEO, QUALCOMM
2001 Dr. Dean Ornish
         Founder, President and Director
         Preventive Medicine Research Institute of Sausalito
2002 Dr. Richard A. Lerner
         President, The Scripps Research Institute
2003 Dr. Marcia McNutt
         President & CEO
         Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute
2004 Dr. Sydney Brenner
         Distinguished Professor
         Salk Institute for Biological Studies
2005 Burt Rutan
         President & CEO, Scaled Composites, LLC
2006 Dr. Ivor Royston
         Oncologist, Entrepreneur,
         Venture Capitalist & Philanthropist
         Co-Founder, Forward Ventures
2007 Dr. John C. Reed
         President & CEO
         Burnham Institute for Medical Research
2008 Dr. Bruce Margon
         Vice Chancellor for Research
         University of California, Santa Cruz
2009 Dr. Erminia Guarneri
         Founder and Medical Director
         Scripps Center for Integrative Medicine
2010 Dr. J. Craig Venter
 Founder, Chairman & President
         J. Craig Venter Institute
2011 Dr. Richard C. Atkinson